Διεθνής Διάκριση για την αγγλική έκδοση του Υγρού Πυρός

2018-01-16 19:06

                                                          

Η αγγλική έκδοση του βιβλίου του Κωνσταντίνου Καρατόλιου «Το Υγρόν Πυρ και η Συμβολή του στη Βυζαντινή Ισχύ» (Greek Fire and its Contribution to Byzantine Might, Quest Publications, 2η έκδοση 2014) απέσπασε τη διάκριση «Readers' Favorite Five Stars».

Μπορείτε να διαβάσετε την κριτική που τη συνόδευε (στα αγγλικά) παρακάτω:

"I love military history and Greek Fire and Its Contribution to Byzantine Might by Konstantinos Karatolios is one of the most entertaining and informative books I have read in a long time. I like the idea of a chemical formula developed by the ancients that we haven't figured out how to replicate. I found the idea of a super-weapon, that allowed the Byzantine Empire to dominate the region for such a long time, fascinating. This book is great. I found the colorful pictures of ships and ancient artifacts very attractive. It is a great thing when a book can be both fun and informative. I learned a lot of facts about the Romans, Crete, and the Byzantine Empire. The best part was that Konstantinos Karatolios presented it in a fun and very entertaining manner.

I did not know that modern man does not know the formula for Greek Fire. So, right away, I was impressed that this book had something to teach me. I found the characters from history, as well as Mr. Karatolios himself, very well portrayed. I could feel some of the author's personality seep into his work and I liked it. The pictures and illustrations are beautiful. The writing style is informative, but at the same time very friendly. This is a book I would recommend to anyone with an interest in ancient warfare. It would make a great gift for anyone with similar reading tastes and interests as mine."

 Ray Simmons for Readers' Favorite