Konstantinos Karatolios at mybookplace.net

2016-01-09 14:42

Konstantinos Karatolios, author of  "Greek Fire and its Contribution to Byzantine Might" , published by Quest Publications, got interviewed for mybookplace.net. You can read his interview below or you can visit  the original site . Mybookplace.net published a presentation of his book as well.

 

Tell us about yourself and how many books you have written.
I was born in Athens, Greece and I have studied Social Anthropology, History and Educational Studies. Right now I’m preparing for a PhD in Byzantine Philology. I’ve written four books so far and “Greek Fire and its Contribution to Byzantine Might” is the first one to be translated into English.

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?
The name of my latest book is “Greek Fire and its Contribution to Byzantine Might”. I wanted to create a short book, a kind of synopsis, of what has been written on the subject. I also wanted to provide a skeptical approach highlighting the problems some of the answers already given possess. I think that this book is a solid ground for both myself and for other researchers for the efforts to come regarding the understanding of this tremendous weapon.

Do you have any unusual writing habits?
I don’t think that you can have unusual writing habits when it comes to create non- fiction books. I try as hard as I can to find the time and space to concentrate on my writing during the day or the night.

What authors, or books have influenced you?
There are a lot of scholars, especially from the field of Byzantinology that influenced me. If I had to pick only one I would say that Telemachos Lounges is my mentor.

What are you working on now?
These days I’m waiting for the publication, in Greek, of my next book titled “Byzantine Imperial Ideology”. I’m currently researching the education of the emperors during the Middle Byzantine period.

What is your best method or website when it comes to promoting your books?
It all depends on your budget. When it comes to low budget or no budget at all, then social media should do the trick. I’m fortunate to work with Quest Publications so they make a lot of things easier for me.

Do you have any advice for new authors?
They have to stick to their plan no matter what comes in their way. Persistence is the best way to make your dreams come true.

What is the best advice you have ever heard?
To never give up. Our world is rotten in so many different ways. You have to keep going no matter what.

What are you reading now?
I’m currently reading books on the Byzantine Middle period for my next project.

What’s next for you as a writer?
I’m waiting for my next book to come out in the next few days. I will then turn my attention to my next project on the Byzantine Education and try to sign for my books to be published abroad.

What is your favorite book of all time?
I would have to pick a fiction book for that. “The Name of the Rose” was definitely a great book.